top of page
Search
  • amylbushnell

Grateful, thankful, blessed

Fundraising for this year has come to a close and I'm blown away by the amount we raised... $17,661!


I can't thank my team and donors enough for everything they have done for me over the last (almost) 6 years. To say that having cancer changes you and everyone around you is an understatement - it shapes you, it gives you strength you didn't know you had and some days it beats you down to the core, but there is one constant that hasn't changed and that is the support of my loving, loyal and supportive group of family and friends. So again, THANK YOU!



For any new visitors who don't know my story - please see the Media page and listen to podcasts or other interviews I've done along the way, but I'll summarize here...

To make a long story short I was diagnosed in 2016 with Colon Cancer (Stage IIIC). I had an emergent left hemi-colectomy, (they took out 2 feet of my colon and sewed the rest back to together and closed me up). I went through 12 rounds of Folfox chemotherapy, took some time to recover and headed back to work with a "NED" (No Evidence of Disease) report. In September 2017 I went in for my routine scan and they found lung nodules consistent with the spread of cancer, making me a Stage IV patient. I immediately left work and started fighting again. I had surgery on each lung and 12 more rounds of a different chemo regimen (Folfiri w/Avastin). Since then I've had several lung surgeries to remove more cancerous nodules, slowly chipping away at this awful disease.



It's been almost 6 years of peaks and valleys of hope and determination and also defeat and heartbreak. I remain positive and celebrate small victories including my latest scan which didn't show new nodules or growth! Let's all celebrate this thanksgiving with the people we are truly grateful for, I know I will.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page